I don’t know how many of you have younger sisters. They were an annoying species while growing up but suddenly, especially if you’ve moved away from home, you realize that they are quite an interesting person. The annoying little shit who squealed on you and your other siblings to save her own ass has a personality that is cool. She doesn’t tell on you anymore and you realize that you actually like her. You already know you love her because she’s your sister but actually liking your younger sister is very cool.

If you’re lucky you’ll have a sister like mine. She’s as funny as hell and can keep me laughing for hours on the phone. Which is amazing since I hate talking on the phone except with her. She’s caring, sensitive, dependable, smart, and extremely adorable. She is who I want to be when I grow up.

She’s teaching her children responsibility to not only themselves, but their neighbours (humanity) as well. She is teaching them to give back, pay it forward and care about what they are doing. She is showing them by example that you can’t give up and that no matter how many times you get kicked/knocked down you get back up and finish what you started. That you have to work for what you want and no one owes you a living.

All of this while fighting breast cancer. She had her titty taken off. Worked during her chemo and radiation and has fought this disease every step of the way even on the days she didn’t feel like fighting anymore. I think she was able to bring our family together more than anyone else has been able to do because she is the type of person who gets back what she has given out-love, understanding, empathy, caring and lets face it Karma loves her to.

I couldn’t go home to see her when she found out she was sick because if I had I would’ve driven it all home that it is very real. I would actually see what cancer was doing to my little sister and the thought of possibly losing her to this disease wasn’t something I was able to see up close and personal. I could provide a shoulder for her to cry on while talking on the phone but I couldn’t look her in the eye. I freely admit that I am a coward.

I’m going home to see her this summer and the first thing I’m going to do is apologize for not having the courage to go home to see her when she got sick. The second thing I plan on doing is to celebrate what a wonderful person my little sister is.

