tea&bannock

From the moment I jumped into the boat to head my Jijuu’s fish camp, I could literally feel my mind ease and my body begin to let go of tension and stress. I can honestly say that our fish camp is my happiest place on Earth. It is where I can think my straightest and find my balance all while learning about my Gwich’in heritage and spending time with my Jijuu.

Fish Camp (1 of 27)_WEBFish Camp (3 of 27)_WEBFish Camp (4 of 27)_WEBFish Camp (5 of 27)_WEBFish Camp (6 of 27)_WEBFish Camp (7 of 27)_WEBFish Camp (8 of 27)_WEB

While at fish camp, there is always work to be done. The nets have to be checked all day long, the fish need to be scaled, gutted, cleaned and cut to be dried, we need to gather the right type of wood to be burned for the fish to dry properly, fetch water from the creek, cook meals, keep the place clean and we always end our nights with a game of soccer. Some would say that the best…

View original post 270 more words

